Stephen Hough and Carlos Izcaray launch 2016/17 Masterworks Series with ASO

Arts BHam have published a review of my most recent concert with the Alabama Symphony. We were joined by the exceptional pianist Stephen Hough for Brahms' Piano Concerto and also performed Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 5. The concert the 2016-17 Masterworks Season, and marks the start of my second season with the orchestra. Extract from the review below: "Izcaray’s focus was more on broader issues such as overarching shape and form. Textures veered more toward sound mass than intimate gestures, especially noticeable when the brass powered over the strings in tutti passages and in bouts of uneven ensemble. But those moments were far overshadowed by an engaging impulse and drive in the first and last movements, and by the buoyant character of the third movement’s lilting waltz. Most memorable was the Andante cantabile second movement, a host of artful wind solos led by principal horn David Pandolfi and strings that veritably sang." Read the full review here.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

© 2019 Carlos Izcaray

Website by Artium Media Relations